Spirituality is a very personal concept. People turn to various practices in order to find guidance or to feel connected to something larger than themselves. Many seek mainstream religion. Others look to alternative spiritual practices. If you’ve been considering your own spiritual practice, you might be interested in learning about such disciplines as astrology and tarot readings. You might even wonder how these practices work and how you can incorporate them into your own spiritual journey. Read on for a description of each, along with a summary of how they can work together.

About Astrology

Astrology is the study of Earth and the planets. It is used to understand and predict the actions and behaviors of those around us. Astrology can provide insight into the happenings on Earth and the ways those happenings affect our lives.

Individuals are placed into categories based on their zodiac sun signs. There are 12 zodiac signs. Your sign is determined by the sun’s position at the time and place you were born. The 12 segments of the zodiac chart are displayed in the shape of a clock. Each segment is referred to as a house. The zodiac chart moves counterclockwise, beginning with Aries and ending with Pisces.

The 12 zodiac signs and their corresponding dates are:

  • Aries: March 21 – April 20
  • Taurus: April 21 – May 20
  • Gemini: May 21 – June 21
  • Cancer: June 22 – July 22
  • Leo: July 23 – August 22
  • Virgo: August 23 – September 22
  • Libra: September 23 – October 22
  • Scorpio: October 23 – November 22
  • Sagittarius: November 23 – December 21
  • Capricorn: December 22 – January 20
  • Aquarius: January 21 – February 18
  • Pisces: February 19 – March 20

It is said that each sign tends to exhibit certain kinds of personality traits and behaviors, which are determined by the alignment of the stars and planets in each house. Groups of signs are assigned an element, further categorizing them. Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius are fire signs. Earth signs include Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn. The air signs are made up of Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius. Finally, there are the water signs of Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces.

How Tarot Cards Work

Each individual tarot reading is unique. The deck is made up of 78 cards. These are divided into two groups, which are the Minor Arcana and the Major Arcana.

The Minor Arcana is made up of four suits and ten Roman numerals. These cards provide insight into everyday occurrences. The tarot card meanings and spreads are determined by their specific combinations.

As the name implies, the Major Arcana represents major happenings in your life. When one is drawn, you can interpret that something big will occur to impact your entire life or character. They can also be interpreted as major themes or life lessons that will occur in the future.

The Relationship Between the Two

Tarot is a practice that is more individually interpreted than that of astrology. However, they can be used together to provide life guidance through interpretations of the astral world. It is said that tarot cards are drawn by your “spiritual guide.” This guide is sort of like a guardian angel. The cards that are pulled are messages from your guide. The readings are personalized and different for each person.

Astrology is based on the position of the Earth, moon, and planets. Because birthdates influence astrological signs, numerous people can have the same horoscope. Astrological readings are seen as factual, providing overarching guidance to the signs. The two practices complement each other. The astrological elements of fire, water, earth, and air are seen as connecting to the suits of the tarot deck. These corresponding suits are wands, cups, pentacles, and swords. Knowledge of your zodiac sign can help to more precisely interpret your tarot readings.

People use tarot and astrology to understand who they are and where they are going. These may even be used as a form of mental health practice. Now that you have an understanding of how astrology and tarot readings work, you can determine whether to embrace them and incorporate them into your spiritual practice.