Discolsure: I participated in this campaign for One2One Network. I received a free copy of the CD to facilitate my review. By posting, I am eligible for incentives. This post also contains affiliate links. All opinions stated are my own.

Court Yard Hounds

I’m very excited about my new CD! Amelita by Court Yard Hounds was just released yesterday and I’ve got my own copy to review! If you loved the Dixie Chicks and haven’t heard the Court Yard Hounds yet, you don’t know what you are missing. Sisters Emily Robison and Martie Maquire formerly of the Dixie Chicks take their voices to a new level. If you are expecting something like Wide Open Spaces or Goodbye Earl you may be disappointed but if you are looking for soul, sass and great vocals this is your album! Think of Court Yard Hounds as a Pop Folk band and much less country than the Dixie Chicks. The songs are relateable, catchy and are now featured in my playlist.

I’m trying to decide which is my favorite track but the choice is really difficult! There are 11 tracks of pure soul! I think I can relate to any one of these sets of lyrics in one way or another.  I love Sunshine, Amelita and Aimless Upward the most! They are all just so great though!! 

About Amelita

“We’re a band, not a side project. We like our sound, and we’re going to continue to do this, and share something new this time around.” Emily Robison couldn’t be more clear about the game plan for the Court Yard Hounds, the group she and sister Martie Maguire head up, as they get ready to release their second album, Amelita.

After a few years away from the limelight and the Dixie Chicks, the two sisters were ready to get back into the studio with the creation of Court Yard Hounds. Amelita, out now, marks the Court Yard Hounds’ second album.

Containing 11 new tracks, Robison and Maguire took a different approach with Amelita than their debut album in 2010. This album contains a new perspective, which is due in part to time passed since Robison’s divorce. “I’ve been freed of all of those time-heals-everything kind of things,” says Robison. “Now, I’ve opened up to other ideas and ways of looking at life and the world. I think it’s not only a more hopeful album, but it’s more… well fun.

I love this band…the way we explore new aspects of ourselves and what we can expect from each other, both musically and as people,” says Martie. “We are close. Plus, being on the road and being in the studio is like my spa from the everyday challenges of just being a mom.

The Court Yard Hounds’ new album is a clear statement of who the girls are as artists, defining their sound as a band, with soaring songs that are personal, yet familiar and widely relatable. 

 You can listen to some sample tracks here. The album is available to purchase on Amazon and Amazon digital as well as iTunes

Amelita Tracks

  • Sunshine (If I had to pick a favorite I think this would be it)
  • Amelita (Beautiful title track!)
  • The World Smiles (This will make you smile!)
  • Aimless Upward (I really love this track)
  • Guy Like You (A little more country)
  • Rock All Night (Super catchy)
  • Phoebe (Great lyrics!)
  • Divided (This one is okay!)
  • Gets You Down (Harmony in this song is unforgettable)
  • Watch Your Step (Wicked fun song!)
  • The Road You Take (Hearfelt pue emotion)

Title Track- Amelita

Connect with Court Yard Hounds:

[embedit snippet=”amelita”] 

1 thought on “Court Yard Hounds – Amelita Album #Review #CYHAmelita

Comments are closed.